About Us


About the city

Meerut is a metropolitan city of Uttar Pradesh. It is an ancient city located at 56 km (35& mi) north-east of New Delhi. It is a part of the National Capital Region of India. It is the 16th largest metropolitan area in India and the 17th largest city in India. It ranked 292 in 2006 and 242 in 2010 in the list of largest cities and urban areas in the world. It is the fastest developing city of Uttar Pradesh after Noida and Ghaziabad. It is spread about 172 square km. The total metropolitan area is 198 km which is third in Uttar Pradesh after Lucknow and Kanpur. It has the 2 nd largest Army Cantonment of the country. The city is famous for its scissors, Handloom Cloths, gold jewellery, sports goods , Gazak and Rewri; and is sometimes called the city of scissors or the sports capital of India. Most of all, the city is famous for the Revolt of 1857, also called India's First War of Independence, which began here. The city is fast developing as an industrial and education hub in Western Uttar Pradesh.


Meerut lies between 28.2 latitudes and 77.7 longitudes in the northern plains of India. The ground is not rocky and there are no mountains. Land is highly fertile and suitable for growing crops. Meerut lies between plains of rivers Ganga and Yamuna, there is no water scarcity as ground water is present. The University situated at Modipuram.


Situated on NH-58, Modipuram is said to be the fastest developing area of Meerut. It is only 6 km from Daurala and 8 km from city. It comes in Meerut Metropolitan area. It has many world class restaurants like Bikanerwala, Nirula's and McDonald's. Melange mall is also there. Modipuram is well connected through city buses.


Meerut is an education hub of Western Uttar Pradesh having a total of 4 universities, more than 50 engineering colleges, 27 other colleges and institutions and countless schools. The city is home to the 'Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel University of Agriculture & Technology' and CCS University . Another two universities are 'Swami Vivekananda Subharti University' and 'Shobhit University'. The city currently has two medical colleges, namely 'Subharti Medical College' and the 'Lala Lajpat Rai Memorial Medical College'. The city's prominent academic colleges are Meerut College, D.N. College, Faiz-E-Aam Degree College, Ismail National Girls P.G. College, R.G Degree College and N.A.S College. Some Reputed schools of the city are Dewan Public School, St. Mary's Academy,Government Inter College (GIC),Dayawati Modi Academy, Delhi Public School, Godwin Public School, St. John's Sr. Sec. School,Guru Tegh Bahadur Public School, Meerut Public School,Sophia Girls' School, Translam international academy, J. P. Academy, Gargi girls school, D.A.V. Public school and St Thomas Public School.'Indian film and television institute' is also opened at western byepass of the city. Several management colleges have been established at different parts of the city. The city also has a lot of B.Ed. colleges.



The nearest airport is the Indra Gandhi international airport which is about 80 km away. An international airport is proposed by the state government in city to reduce pressure in Delhi airport.


By road Meerut is well-connected to major cities like Delhi, Noida Haridwar etc.. Two national highway (NH-58 & NH-119) pass through Meerut. An expressway from Delhi to Meerut and Upper Ganga Expressway which passes through outskirts of the city are under development. There are 2 main bus terminals, namely Bhainsali bus terminal and Sohrab Gate bus terminal from where Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation(UPSRTC) buses ply to cities all over the state. As Meerut has announced a metropolitan city in 2007, JNNURM scheme has been taken place and many low floor city buses are running over the city roads. Low Floor City Buses, Normal City Buses, auto rickshaws and rickshaws are convenient public transport options to commute within the city. Many new transport infrastructure projects like inner ring road, outer ring road and construction of new flyovers are proposed.


Meerut has six railway stations- Meerut City , Meerut Cantt, Partapur, Sakoti tanda, Mohdinnpur and Pabli Khas. Meerut City station is busiest station in the city. Meerut cantt station was founded in 1865 and serves as a secondary railway station. Meerut lies on Delhi - Saharanpur railway line.